Office of the Chancellor



517 Swanlund Administration Building, MC-304 601 E. John St. Champaign, IL 61820

September 26, 2023

CHANCELLOR'S DESIGN ADVISORY COMMITTEE 2023-2024

Francisco J. Rodríguez-Suárez, *Co-Chair* Ehab Kamarah, *Co-Chair* John Dallesasse Christa Leigh Deacy-Quinn Michael D. Ross

Jon Seydl
David Hays
Morgan White, Ex Officio
Cheryl Bicknell, Ex Officio
Dennis Craig, Ex Officio
Brent Lewis, Ex Officio

Dear Colleagues:

I would like to invite you to serve as a member of the Chancellor's Design Advisory Committee for the 2023-24 academic year. Francisco J. Rodríguez-Suárez and Ehab Kamarah will serve as co-chairs for this committee.

The charge of the committee is to:

- 1. Establish appropriate general guidance for the orderly development and presentation of the campus.
- 2. Provide input to proponents/designers of proposed projects contributing to the development of the campus.
- 3. Provide reaction to specific design/development solutions proposed by contracted professionals and in-house staff.

In addition to the foregoing charge, the CDAC will be asked to provide comments relative to design concepts and art in public spaces. This will include observations on building locations and designs, site lines, location of parking lots, sculptures, landscape design and lighting. This effort would identify positive and successful aspects of the campus design as well as past decisions we would want to avoid in the future. Any observations of contemplation for historical sites should be sent to the Chancellor's Capital Review Committee (CCRC) for further review.

The staff support for the committee's work will be provided by the Capital Programs Project Planning Department of Facilities & Services. We look forward to meeting with the committee and will contact you soon to schedule monthly meetings for the academic year.

Chancellor's Design Advisory Committee September 26, 2023 Page 2

Thank you again for agreeing to make this valuable contribution to the development of the campus.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Jones Chancellor

c: John Coleman Mike DeLorenzo Robin Kaler